Reading Drought

wpid-img_20151012_143548.jpg

It happened. Just now. I finished a book! And a great one at that!

For months now, I’ve been suffering through a long, listless reading drought.  I’ve been attempting to read books that seem intellectually interesting, but ultimately don’t captivate my imagination. I’ll sit down, intent on making some serious progress, and find my mind wandering or my eyelids drooping instead. Would I like to be interested in these topics? Yes. But am I? $4.50 of library fees say that I’m not. (When library fees come a quarter at a time, that’s a lot of disinterest and misplaced motivation!)

So, I finally faced the facts, returned my not-so-interesting library books, and splurged on the new releases I’ve been drooling over for a while now. After all, one of my goals for 30 is to read 30 inspiring and interesting books this year. I certainly can’t do that if I can’t get past the first 20 pages of my book.

Now, you can tell the state of my life by the books I’m reading.

My dear loyal readers, get ready for some book reviews, because I’m diving head first into my good reads!

Leave a Reply

